Come, Bitter Poison

Rating: 3 out of 5.
come bitter poison book cover

Monica Knightley, 2016

A Stratford Upon Avondale Mystery Book 2

Book 2 of Monica Knightley’s cozy mystery series revisits Stratford Upon Avondale, the charming northwestern town with a Shakespeare vibe. Ex-novice nun, romance writer, and tea room owner Maggie O’Flynn has once again involved herself in a murder investigation.

Book 2 picks up where Book 1, Alas, She Drowned, left off. The author skillfully recaps the happenings of the first book in this story, with just enough detail to bring the reader up to speed without overhwelming the current mystery. This new installment holds its own, but I do have to say I guessed who the killer was, which hardly ever happens. I don’t think that’s a good thing; I wanted to be fooled. Still, the story is worth your time, as is the series. I’ll most likely read the books that follow over coming months; as of this writing there are eight more books.